2015 Award-Winning Youth Books

It’s award season time! No, not for movies or actors – something far more important: The Youth Media Awards, presented by the American Library Association. This morning, the awards for books and audio books published for children and young adults were announced.

LastStopJohn Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

Winner: Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena.

Honor Books: The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley; Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson; and Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan.


WinnieRandolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

Winner: Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear, illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick.

Honor Books: Trombone Shorty, illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Troy Andrews; Waiting, illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes; Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, illustrated by Ekua Holmes and written by Carole Boston Weatherford; and Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson and written by Matt de la Pena.


GoneCrazyCoretta Scott King Author Award, recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults.

Winner: Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia

Honor Books: All-American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely; The Boy in the Black Suit, by Jason Reynolds; and X: A Novel by Ilyasah Shabazz with Kekla Magoon.


BoneGapMichael L. Prinz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

Winner: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Honor Books: Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez; and The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick.


FunnyBonesRobert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Winner: Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras, written and illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh.

Honor Books: Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans, written and illustrated by Don Brown; The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club by Phillip Hoose; Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: My Story of the 1965 Selma Voting Rights March, written by Lynda Blackmon Lowery; and Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, written by Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrated by Ekua Holmes.


MostDangerousYALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:

Winner: Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War by Steve Sheinkin.

Honor Books: Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir, by Margaret Engle; First Flight Around the World: The Adventures of the American Fliers Who Won the Race, by Tim Grove; Symphony for the City of Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad by M.T. Anderson; and This Strange Wilderness: The Life and Art of John James Audubon, by Nancy Plain.

The full list of award winners can be found here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: